OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
 
From: Nick FitzGerald (nickvirus-l.demon.co.uk)
Date: Tue Jul 17 2001 - 06:33:17 CDT

  • Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]

    "Robert D. Hughes" wrote:

    > First of all, here's the headers:
    <<snip>>
    > Now, they've obviously taken an actual MS bulleting and used the text, right
    > down including a pgp key and they've incremented it from the previous
    > bulletin. The first thing I noticed is that the entire message is
    > double-spaced. Not a lot, but it was different from every other bulletin I've
    > gotten. The obvious give away is the address they've used to for the fix, as
    > well specifying a particular file to download. The bulletin page of course is
    > 404.

    Apart from the double-spacing and the 404 error on the non-existant
    security bulletin, this same trick was used a few days (week?) ago
    to advertise/distribute a (then) new Win32/Leave variant (that worm
    that spreads via SubSeven machines that the NIPC were so worked up
    about a couple of weeks back).

    > The netblock is owned by LYCOS in Europe and points to a tripod page, with an
    > att.net account used to send the mail, and relevant parties have been cc'ed
    > as well. And apparently the user name associated with the site is hicagogppr.
    >
    > From my limited experience, I can tell very little about the file other than
    > it appears to connect to a remote web site. This comes from running strings
    > against the file. It also appears to go after napster and icq accounts, but I
    > can't tell what else it does. I think the most important thing is that
    > scanning it with the latest virus signatures from Norton comes up clean, so a
    > user would not be notified that they are running an infected file.
    >
    > If someone with the knowledge and experience will, please do a full analysis
    > on this and let me know what it is. I'm pretty much a rank newbie at this, as
    > you can probably tell ;) I searched the bugtraq archives, but didn't find
    > anything on this, so if its known, I apologize.
    <<snip>>

    Sounds like a new Leave variant. Please send a copy to your
    preferred antivirus vendor. To possibly save you the search time,
    the sample submission addresses of the better-known developers are:

       Command Software <viruscommandcom.com>
       Computer Associates (US) <viruscai.com>
       Computer Associates (Vet/IPE) <ipevirusvet.com.au>
       DialogueScience (Dr.Web) <Antivirdials.ru>
       Eset (NOD32) <trnkaeset.sk>
       F-Secure Corp. <samplesf-secure.com>
       Frisk Software <viruslabcomplex.is>
       Kaspersky Labs <newvirusavp.ru>
       Network Associates (US) <virus_researchnai.com>
       Norman (NVC) <analysisnorman.no>
       Sophos Plc. <supportsophos.com>
       Symantec <avsubmitsymantec.com>
       Trend Micro <virus_doctortrendmicro.com>

    -- 
    Nick FitzGerald
    Computer Virus Consulting Ltd.
    Ph/FAX: +64 3 3529854