OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
 
From: Rick Updegrove (security_at_updegrove.net)
Date: Tue Dec 17 2002 - 03:25:55 CST

  • Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]

    This is probably pretty off-topic, sorry, but I figure it is worth
    mentioning.

    Has anyone seen this site? widescreenplasma.com

    They claim to have blowout prices on plasma TVs. However, because they seem
    "to good to be true", i.e. a $4,999 TV for $999 so I was somewhat skeptical.
    However, I figured the quality would be poor. So, I got the model number
    and I went to a local retailer and looked at it. The thing looked great...

    So, excited I went home to look again at the order page but this time it
    said in big, uppercase red letters at the top "DANGER DANGER DANGER DANGER
    DANGER DANGER DANGER DANGER DANGER DANGER WIDESCREENPLASMA.COM IS A FRONT
    FOR A FRAUD". I think it was an image. I didn't save it unfortunately.

    So later on the same day I decided to show my room-mate how I almost got
    ripped off buying something on the Internet but when I went back there just
    now to show him, the banner with the red uppercase letters is gone!

    Although the site is a little low budget and fairly convincing, I still
    don't believe the site is real, and I think it should probably be reported
    to someone. However, I don't actually have any proof of any wrongdoing. As
    of right now, I haven't reported it anywhere but here.

    Any thoughts? I mean If I am wrong, I don't want to publish lible about, or
    spread slander about anyone.

    Rick Updegrove

    _______________________________________________
    Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
    Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html