|
Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com |
RE: [Full-Disclosure] [Fwd: Please contact me !!! 800 453 2287]
From: Meeusen, Charles D (cmeeusen
bnl.gov)
Date: Mon Jan 05 2004 - 10:30:02 CST
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]
Actually, I'm glad this was posted since I also received this (to my
personal email address) and I've just spent the last 20 minutes or so
investigating it. I usually just send my spam to trash and move on but this
one caught my eye. If others got it, and can explain what's happening, I'd
appreciate it.
What I found:
The email originated from c-24-126-245-82.we.client2.attbi.com
[24.126.245.82]
The phone number really is valid for a group called ibtco.com who I have no
association with.
Google search for "lidiya aliyeva" only returns these log segments:
Jan 4 23:13:32 horsey testmail[11038]: i057DUSs011038:
from=<lidiya.aliyeva
ibtco.com>, size=2056, class=0, nrcpts=1,
msgid=<000701c3d34a$b5fd68b0$0101c80a
a>, proto=SMTP, daemon=testv4,
relay=h62n2fls34o867.telia.com [217.208.39.62]
Jan 4 23:13:34 horsey testmail[11060]: i057DXXC011053:
to=lidiya.aliyeva
ibtco.com, delay=00:00:01, xdelay=00:00:01, mailer=esmtp,
pri=212631, relay=ibtco.com.mail5.psmtp.com. [12.158.35.251], dsn=2.0.0,
stat=Sent (Thanks)
Jan 4 23:13:34 horsey testmail[11062]: i057DXKR011052:
to=lidiya.aliyeva
ibtco.com, delay=00:00:01, xdelay=00:00:01, mailer=esmtp,
pri=212625, relay=ibtco.com.mail5.psmtp.com. [12.158.35.251], dsn=2.0.0,
stat=Sent (Thanks)
Which can be seen in it's entirety here:
http://test.smtp.org/log
This isn't by any stretch an exhaustive inquiry, but I'd love to have
someone who knows better than me tell me what's happening here. Why would
email that, from all outward appearances seem to be spam, be sent with a
valid phone number of a (seemingly) valid company but via (seemingly)
nefarious means(seemingly) be trying to get banking info from me?
C.
-----Original Message-----
From: the measly one [mailto:measlymonkey
theplanet.org]
Sent: Monday, January 05, 2004 4:29 AM
To: full-disclosure
lists.netsys.com
Subject: RE: [Full-Disclosure] [Fwd: Please contact me !!! 800 453 2287]
> andrewg
d2.net.au wrote:
>
>
> For what its worth. I'm sure someone here knows the correct places to
> report things like these.
>
> Headers:
<snip>
thank you for your spam, but i get enough on my own. why dont you trace it
and
find out where it came from? seems like the next logical step.
the meas
_______________________________________________
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html
_______________________________________________
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]