|
Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com |
Re: [Full-Disclosure] Would you trust these Emails (EBAY & PAYPAL)
partysan_FFF
gmx.net
Date: Sat Feb 21 2004 - 06:20:26 CST
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]
HD> Hi,
HD> i've received these two emails, and i dont know why....
HD> What do you think about this?
HD> regards,
HD> Harald Dumdey
HD> ---------------------------------------------------------
HD> The EBAY-Mail was sent by in-187-185.dhcp-149-166.iupui.edu
HD> WHOIS-Output
HD> Search results for: 149.166.187.185
HD> OrgName: Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis
HD> OrgID: IUUAI
HD> Address: University Information Technology Services
HD> Address: ET 012
HD> Address: 799 West Michigan Street
HD> City: Indianapolis
HD> StateProv: IN
HD> PostalCode: 46202
HD> Country: US
HD> NetRange: 149.166.0.0 - 149.166.255.255
HD> CIDR: 149.166.0.0/16
HD> NetName: IUPUI-NET2
HD> NetHandle: NET-149-166-0-0-1
HD> Parent: NET-149-0-0-0-0
HD> NetType: Direct Assignment
HD> NameServer: DNS1.IU.EDU
HD> NameServer: DNS2.IU.EDU
HD> Comment:
HD> RegDate: 1991-05-06
HD> Updated: 2003-12-22
HD> TechHandle: ON6-ORG-ARIN
HD> TechName: INDIANA UNIVERSITY COMPUTING SERVICES
HD> TechPhone: +1-317-274-7788
HD> TechEmail: oitnoc
iupui.edu
HD> OrgTechHandle: DBE43-ARIN
HD> OrgTechName: Beals, Damon
HD> OrgTechPhone: +1-317-274-7946
HD> OrgTechEmail: dbeals
iupui.edu
HD> OrgTechHandle: DNSAD60-ARIN
HD> OrgTechName: DNS Administrator
HD> OrgTechPhone: +1-317-274-0707
HD> OrgTechEmail: dns-admin
iupui.edu
HD> # ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2004-02-20 19:15
HD> # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
HD> The PAYPAL-Email shows a link to 210.78.22.113
HD> WHOIS-Output
HD> % [whois.apnic.net node-1]
HD> % Whois data copyright terms
HD> http://www.apnic.net/db/dbcopyright.html
HD> inetnum: 210.78.22.64 - 210.78.22.128
HD> netname: SHJITONG-CN
HD> descr: JiTong Shanghai Communications Co.,Ltd
HD> country: CN
HD> admin-c: ZQ15-AP
HD> tech-c: ZQ15-AP
HD> mnt-by: MAINT-CHINAGBN-AP
HD> changed: kevin
gb.com.cn 19990826
HD> status: ASSIGNED NON-PORTABLE
HD> source: APNIC
HD> changed: hm-changed
apnic.net 20020827
HD> person: Zhongbao Qian
HD> address: Room 1001,Lekai Builing,Shangcheng Road,
HD> address: Pudong Xin district,Shanghai
HD> country: CN
HD> phone: +86-021-58313170
HD> fax-no: +86-021-58312630
HD> nic-hdl: ZQ15-AP
HD> mnt-by: MAINT-CHINAGBN-AP
HD> changed: kevin
gb.com.cn 19990826
HD> source: APNIC
Hi,
the site looks exactly like the site at www.paypal.com, however, there
is no verify.html at the "real" paypal site. This smells very much
like a scam to get people's billing information. Also, note that
the "help" (and all other) buttons are linked to www.paypal.com,not
the site from the email.
You can report this to paypal (They actually have a "suspicios email"
Category) here:
http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_contact-general.
I strongly advise against filling out those forms, and to contact the
paypal people.
_______________________________________________
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]