OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
 
Re: [Full-Disclosure] Suspect phpBB users

From: Ron Brogden (domainsislandnet.com)
Date: Wed Dec 29 2004 - 12:58:40 CST


On December 25, 2004 15:54, Jack Yan wrote:
> We have since upgraded, but among our new users over the last few days
> have been a Weber361, a Weber395, and a nderevyanko.

This looks like the fallout from a standard run of the mill spam bot. The
point of its actions being to generate as many distinct links back to the
user's site as possible so as to increase their search engine placement.
This is similar to referrer spamming in HTTP logs - just in this case it is
an automated bot spamming forums instead of some other target. I doubt it is
caused by a worm, more likely one or more machines running dedicated software
(though it is possible this is installed on zombie machines I suppose).

Cheers

_______________________________________________
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.netsys.com/full-disclosure-charter.html