OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
Re: [Full-disclosure] [funsec] facebook messages worm

From: John C. A. Bambenek, GCIH, CISSP (bambenek.infosecgmail.com)
Date: Wed Aug 06 2008 - 16:56:24 CDT


What's the infection vector? URL Link? Rouge Facebook app?

On Wed, Aug 6, 2008 at 4:44 PM, Gadi Evron <gelinuxbox.org> wrote:

> Hi all.
>
> There's a facebook (possibly worm) something malicious sending fake
> messages from real users (friends).
>
> The sample also has a remote drop site (verified by someone who shall
> remain nameless).
>
> This is possibly zlob, not verified. Thanks Nick Bilogorskiy for his help.
>
> Infection sites seen so far are on .pl domains.
>
> The AV industry will soon add detection.
> Facebook's security folks are very capable, so I am not worried on that
> front.
>
> It's not that we didn't expect this for a long time now, but...
> Be careful. Some users know to be careful in email.. but not on facebook.
>
> Note: unlike 2003 when we called everything a worm and the 90s when
> everything was a virus--this is a bot which also spreads/infects on
> facebook.
>
> Gadi.
>
>
> --
> "You don't need your firewalls! Gadi is Israel's firewall."
> -- Itzik (Isaac) Cohen, "Computers czar", Senior Deputy to the
> Accountant General,
> Israel's Ministry of Finance, at the government's CIO conference,
> 2005.
>
> (after two very funny self-deprication quotes, time to even things up!)
>
> My profile and resume:
> http://www.linkedin.com/in/gadievron
> _______________________________________________
> Fun and Misc security discussion for OT posts.
> https://linuxbox.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/funsec
> Note: funsec is a public and open mailing list.
>

_______________________________________________
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html
Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - http://secunia.com/