OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
Re: [Full-disclosure] (no subject)

Valdis.Kletnieksvt.edu
Date: Thu Aug 14 2008 - 10:58:27 CDT


On Wed, 13 Aug 2008 10:18:13 -0000, ff0000hushmail.com said:

> Is it safe to follow the link in this email?
>
> Yes, it is safe to visit the Hushmail web site by following the link
> provided.

Which is, of course, what any miscreant who wanted you to visit a site that
will drop malware into your browser would say.

The risk is mitigated quite a bit for *this* e-mail because the link is in
a text/plain, so you're either cut-n-pasting the link and can see where you're
going, or your MUA has linkified it but you still can see the actual target.

Unfortunately, most users can't tell the difference between a link in a
text/plain and <a href="http://127.0.0.1">http://www.goodstuff.com</a> (and
you probably should double-check what your MUA did with the above line :)

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1.4.9 (GNU/Linux)
Comment: Exmh version 2.5 07/13/2001

iD8DBQFIpFYjcC3lWbTT17ARAm1GAJ9fAqrZB0hR0+eaiFCIA2EskpcdAwCgg0FP
sCojqOiPH9uBwzaf3vbUX88=
=qaI1
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

_______________________________________________
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html
Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - http://secunia.com/