OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
 
From: Joe Shaw (jshawINSYNC.NET)
Date: Tue Jan 09 2001 - 19:41:51 CST

  • Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]

    The following came across the NANOG list today. Anyone else experiencing
    this? I have not seen mention of this specific attack previously, but
    realize that I may have overlooked it.

    Regards,

    --
    Joseph W. Shaw
    Sr. Network Security Specialist for Big Company not to be named.
    I have public opinions, and they have public relations.
    

    ---------- Forwarded message ---------- Date: Tue, 09 Jan 2001 19:24:39 -0500 From: Steven M. Bellovin <smbresearch.att.com> To: jtkaharp.is-net.depaul.edu Cc: nanogmerit.edu Subject: Re: DNS requests from 209.67.50.203

    In message <3A5BA3C3.CEAAD37Ddepaul.edu>, John Kristoff writes: > >I'm surprised this hasn't come up in NANOG yet... > >On a university list many sites are reporting large amounts of traffic >appearing to come from 209.67.50.203 to their DNS servers. The >administrator of the source IP (spoofed of course) is the victim of a >brutal DoS attack. The traffic is UDP/DNS queries that are appear to be >going directly to available DNS servers (as opposed to random hosts). >Most sites are reporting on the order of 6 or more packets per second to >their DNS servers. The victim has apparently seen upwards of 90 Mb/s of >traffic coming back in to them. Does anyone here have anymore >information on this attack?

    Yes, it's a DDoS attack, of the type that Vern Paxson has dubbed "refletor attacks". You send a forged DNS query to a DNS server; it sends its reply to the victim. Then you have lots of hosts around the net doing this, but banging on different DNS servers.

    --Steve Bellovin