OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
 
From: Digital Overdrive (digioverDSINET.ORG)
Date: Sat Jan 13 2001 - 04:54:05 CST

  • Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]

    Hello Kelly Reid and group,

    Kelly Reid wrote:
    >
    > Following is the properties from the email from sexyfun. I'm interested
    > in knowing who this came from so that they can get their machine scanned.
    >
    > Any help would be appreciated
    > [snap]

    A few days ago I send an abuse message to abuseneonova.net
    Apperently they have made a page because of the virus.

    "We have setup a web site ( http://www.sexyfun.net/ ) that
    contains information about this SPAM / Virus with helpful
    links to other sites."

    =----------=
            Mail I got back, including headers
    =----------=

    Message-ID: <kWkY5.51663$II2.4657409newsread2.prod.itd.earthlink.net>
    Message-ID: <31s06.374$LN3.9345newsread2.prod.itd.earthlink.net>
            id 14Fzpd-00031G-00
            for digioverdsinet.org; Tue, 09 Jan 2001 14:33:01 +0000
    Received: from localhost (heymoelocalhost)
            by nullspace.neonova.net (8.9.3/8.9.3) with ESMTP id JAA28169
            for <digioverdsinet.org>; Tue, 9 Jan 2001 09:46:19 -0500
    Date: Tue, 9 Jan 2001 09:46:19 -0500 (EST)
    From: Gary Moe <heymoenullspace.neonova.net>
    To: Digital Overdrive <digioverdsinet.org>
    Subject: Re: Spam Report (Virus)
    In-Reply-To: <list-49728013neonova.net>
    Message-ID:
    <Pine.LNX.4.30.0101090946050.11243-100000nullspace.neonova.net>
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: TEXT/PLAIN; charset=US-ASCII
    X-Mozilla-Status: 8011
    X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
    X-UIDL: 7b2b37c6a22aca0de657edafc855b67e

    Overdrive,

    Here is a copy of a form letter we have been using to inform people
    about
    this email / SPAM / Virus that everyone is getting. If you have any
    other
    questions about this after you read and visit the URLs in the form
    letter please feel free to write me back.. Thanks..

    ======= Start of form letter =======

    ==== THIS IS NOT A MAILING LIST OR A REAL USER THAT SENT ====
    ==== THE SPAM THAT CLAIMS TO BE FROM: hahahasexyfun.net ====
    / faked From: fields.

    http://www.f-secure.com/v-descs/hybris.shtml

       The person who is responsible for this SPAM / Virus
    spoofed the email address at the sexyfun.net domain. The
    owner of the sexyfun.net domain is NOT affiliated with
    this person, this also go for slowmoe.com which is hosting
    web site that contains information about the SPAM / Virus
    as well as neonova.net whos DNS server host the domain
    sexyfun.net.

       Once again sexyfun.net, slowmoe.com and neonova.net are
    NOT affiliated to the SPAM / Virus that contains the email
    address of hahahasexyfun.net (This is a spoofed email header).
    sexyfun.net, slowmoe.com and neonova.net ARE providing
    information about this SPAM / Virus in the from of a web site
    found at http://www.sexyfun.net/ to help people that are
    running into it.

    ========= End of form letter =========

    -Gary
    =====
    NeoNova Network Services
    Network / System Operations
    garyneonova.net

    On Tue, 9 Jan 2001, Digital Overdrive wrote:

    > Dear abusedesks,
    >
    > Please contact this person whois abusing your
    > Internet services by spamming and sending virii (dwarf4you.exe)
    >
    > Special note for *healey.com.au :

    [snapt a telnetsession]

    > (where is abusehealey.com.au ?)
    >
    > I have included the /complete/ messagesource which means the attachment
    > too.
    > ** Be carefull !! This is a virus !! **

    [I didn't send the whole source]
    [just a small part of it]

    > =----------=
    > Message source
    > =----------=
    >
    > X-POP3-Rcpt: digioverbravo
    > Return-path: <>
    > Envelope-to: digioverdsinet.org
    > Delivery-date: Tue, 09 Jan 2001 09:52:59 +0000
    > Received: from [203.25.70.148] (helo=charlton)
    > by bravo.whitburn.xcalibre.co.uk with smtp (Exim 3.15 #1)
    > id 14FvSS-0000Yh-00
    > for digioverdsinet.org; Tue, 09 Jan 2001 09:52:49 +0000
    > From: Hahaha <hahahasexyfun.net>
    > Subject: Snowhite and the Seven Dwarfs - The REAL story!
    > MIME-Version: 1.0
    > Content-Type: multipart/mixed;
    > boundary="--VEW5E3KDIRK5I7CPEVO5A745QRWH2RCPMBCL"
    > Message-Id: <E14FvSS-0000Yh-00bravo.whitburn.xcalibre.co.uk>
    > Bcc:
    > Date: Tue, 09 Jan 2001 09:52:49 +0000
    > X-Mozilla-Status: 8001
    > X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
    > X-UIDL: cb4dcd83d7b79bbd07a39fe4f0e3cd5a
    >
    > ----VEW5E3KDIRK5I7CPEVO5A745QRWH2RCPMBCL
    > Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
    >
    > Today, Snowhite was turning 18. The 7 Dwarfs always where very educated
    > and
    > polite with Snowhite. When they go out work at mornign, they promissed a
    > *huge* surprise. Snowhite was anxious. Suddlently, the door open, and
    > the Seven
    > Dwarfs enter...
    >
    >
    > ----VEW5E3KDIRK5I7CPEVO5A745QRWH2RCPMBCL
    > Content-Type: application/octet-stream; name="dwarf4you.exe"
    > Content-Transfer-Encoding: base64
    > Content-Disposition: attachment; filename="dwarf4you.exe"

    [snapt some attachment-source]

    > I hope proper actions agains this person will be taken and please
    > keep me posted about it.
    >
    > More information about this virus :
    > http://vil.mcafee.com/dispVirus.asp?virus_k=98873&
    >
    > Kind regards,
    >
    > J. Reilink
    > digioverdsinet.org / digiovercotse.com

    =----------=
            End of message
    =----------=

    McAfee link for information :
    http://vil.mcafee.com/dispVirus.asp?virus_k=98873&

    Hope this informs you enough.

    Regards,

    Jan (Digital Overdrive)

    --
     .~.   Dutch Security Information Network : http://www.dsinet.org
     /V\   news:alt.hack.nl FAQ : http://www.dsinet.org/hackfaq
    /( )\  digioverdsinet.org / digiovercotse.com
    ^^-^^                      "Microsoft: We make virii work!"