OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
 
H.Karrenbeld_at_a1.nl
Date: Sun Sep 29 2002 - 08:31:52 CDT

  • Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]

    The *.cab file contains a file 'potd.dll', googling for it gives this
    link http://and.doxdesk.com/parasite/Cytron.html.

    Overthere it's considered a 'parasite'

    According to the link, it appears to be some module that will install
    into your IE and pop-up ads based on web pages being visited by the
    'infected party'.

    The E-Card people are, of course, lying that it will -need- this module
    installed for the E-card to work.

    $) Henri

    > -----Original Message-----
    > From: Jonathan A. Zdziarski [mailto:jonathannetworkdweebs.com]
    > Sent: Saturday, September 28, 2002 11:25 AM
    > To: incidentssecurityfocus.com
    > Cc: abusethawte.com; server-certsthawte.com; abuseyahoo.com
    > Subject: E-Card Remote Code Execution Scam
    >
    >
    > This seems an aweful lot to me like a Remote Code Execution Scam...
    >
    > I received an email addressed to "Undisclosed Recipients" notifying me
    > that I received an E-Card today, so I went to the site
    > http://www.surprisecards.net/viewcard.htm?id_num=[Undisclosed]
    > &card=Pick
    > +up to view the card. Oddly, I received a security warning
    > asking me if
    > I wanted to allow some code to run on my machine. Noticing the odd
    > choice of form variables as opposed to other e-card sites (not to
    > mention the fact that I could type in any number and get the same
    > screen), and with an eyebrow now raised I went to the main website
    > http://www.surprisecards.net to find "Welcome to the future home of
    > richardoliver.web.aplus.net". So I figure, if there's no way
    > to send a
    > card from this website then chances are nobody sent me a valid card.
    >
    > I took a look at the Thawte certificate for the card viewer "code" and
    > got www.cytron.com, some no-name development website with nothing more
    > than a phone number.
    >
    > At the moment I'm not in front of any sacrificial machine to test the
    > card out on, but I suspect this email is being mailed out as a scam in
    > an attempt to run arbitrary code on the user's machine using a valid
    > Thawte certificate. What the code does when it loads I've no idea as
    > I'm not dumb enough to try it on my home machine.
    >
    > In summary, my suspicion that this is the case is based on the
    > following:
    >
    > 1. The email was from egreetingsyahoo.com, yet was not redirecting me
    > to a yahoo site. (It was in fact coming from a yahoo mail server
    > though).
    >
    > 2. The email was NOT from surprisecard.net
    >
    > 3. The email was addressed to undisclosed recipients
    >
    > 4. There is no medium for sending cards from this site
    >
    > 5. www.cytron.com has no credible information about any card reader
    > product or even the company.
    >
    > Perhaps someone in front of some extra hardware can take this and roll
    > with it.
    >
    >
    >
    > --------------------------------------------------------------
    > --------------
    > This list is provided by the SecurityFocus ARIS analyzer service.
    > For more information on this free incident handling, management
    > and tracking system please see: http://aris.securityfocus.com
    >

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    This list is provided by the SecurityFocus ARIS analyzer service.
    For more information on this free incident handling, management
    and tracking system please see: http://aris.securityfocus.com