OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
 
From: Gambler (Gamblercyberlawenforcement.com)
Date: Tue Sep 18 2001 - 17:55:00 CDT

  • Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]

    TO UNSUBSCRIBE: email "unsubscribe issforum" in the body of your message to
    majordomoiss.net Contact issforum-owneriss.net for help with any problems!
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    The virus is called W32.Nimda.Amm the url for it at Symantec is
    mm.html">http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.nimda.amm.html

    Gambler
    Director of Internet Security
    Cyberangels.org and CyberLawEnforcement.com

    At 12:07 PM 9/18/2001, Roy Wilkinson wrote:

    >TO UNSUBSCRIBE: email "unsubscribe issforum" in the body of your message to
    >majordomoiss.net Contact issforum-owneriss.net for help with any problems!
    >----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    >
    >Hi Everyone,
    >
    >This is not exactly an ISS product-related question, so I apologize in
    >advance if this is out of the scope of the forum. However, I was wondering
    >if any of you had encountered a virus with the following characteristics (or
    >similar), and, if so, if you know of a fix. This was reported to me as
    >appearing on a Windows 2000 machine, running IIS, today.
    >
    >The virus apparently:
    >
    > - Creates a file "admin.dll" in the root directory
    > - Makes Registry changes to add or attach this "admin.dll" to Explorer,
    >such that it runs automatically
    > - Adds the Guest account to the Administrators group
    > - Starts up multiple TFTP processes (to several sites) in the background
    > - Creates files named "tftp#", also in the root directory
    > - Maybe more?
    >
    >I have not been able to find anything about this via McAfee,
    >Symantec/Norton, CAI, F-Secure, Kapersky or Sophos. Cheyenne's A/V product
    >also did not catch it. It has some similarities to Code Blue, so it may be
    >a variant - who knows?. Any information would be helpful.
    >
    >Thanks in advance!
    >
    >Roy Wilkinson
    >Manager of Security
    > > WebTone Technologies
    >Phone & Fax: (404) 439-8238
    >Visit our website! http://www.webtonetech.com