OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
 
Subject: Mailing to
From: Jeremy C. Reed (jcriwbc.net)
Date: Mon Jan 31 2000 - 12:50:34 CST


We have been receiving some mail addressed to "".

What is the best way to reject mail sent to ""?

Here is part of the headers:

 Received: from 216.228.64.12 (hail.iwbc.net [216.228.64.12])
         by family.iwbc.net (Postfix) with SMTP id C525634519
         for <>; Sat, 29 Jan 2000 14:53:20 -0800 (PST)
 From: barkerolypen.com, Membersfamily.iwbc.net
 To:
 Subject: Red Alert
 Date: Sat, 29 Jan 2000 14:51:44 -0800
 X-Mailer: Allaire ColdFusion Application Server

(This Cold Fusion junk also mails to null <> recipients. This was blocked
by upgrading to postfix version 19991231-pl02.)

Here is an example of sending to "" under version 19991231-pl02:

 bash-2.03$ telnet family.iwbc.net 25
 Trying 216.228.64.9...
 Connected to family.iwbc.net.
 Escape character is '^]'.
 220 family.iwbc.net ESMTP Postfix
 HELO jcr.iwbc.net
 250 family.iwbc.net
 MAIL FROM:<IamAspammerhahahaha.com>
 250 Ok
 RCPT TO:<>
 250 Ok
 DATA
 354 End data with <CR><LF>.<CR><LF>
 why?

 .
 250 Ok: queued as 567C434519
 QUIt
 221 Bye
 Connection closed by foreign host.

If I do the same to a Sendmail 8.8.8 server I receive a:

 RCPT TO:<>
 553 <>... list:; syntax illegal for recipient addresses

Thanks for any ideas.

Jeremy C. Reed jcriwbc.net
UNIX Admin Fax: 425-290-1751
IWBC ISP Services http://www.iwbc.net