|
Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com |
Subject: Re: spammit.com (formerly ban based on MX)
From: Harry Palmer (hpalmer
jerky.net)Date: Fri Oct 06 2000 - 12:38:00 CDT
- Next message: Tass: "Re: fatal:connect messages"
- Previous message: Wietse Venema: "Re: virtual domains and hacking smtp_addr.c"
- Next in thread: Chuck Mead: "Re: spammit.com (formerly ban based on MX)"
- Reply: Chuck Mead: "Re: spammit.com (formerly ban based on MX)"
- Reply: brian moore: "Re: spammit.com (formerly ban based on MX)"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]
The guy who runs spammit.com runs a variety of other domains. In all
situations the MX is a machine with IP address 255.255.255.255. Anyone
who runs alarge domain can tell you that this guy is a class A asshole.
Having thousands (tens of thousands) of these emails hanging in
deferred queue for a week is a major pain in the ass. The solution I
use at the moment is to ban all access from these phony domains with an
access list on my inbound mail servers. This prevents my users from
getting the junk mail, and prevents my server from dealing with the
bounces that go no where but my deferred queue.
- Next message: Tass: "Re: fatal:connect messages"
- Previous message: Wietse Venema: "Re: virtual domains and hacking smtp_addr.c"
- Next in thread: Chuck Mead: "Re: spammit.com (formerly ban based on MX)"
- Reply: Chuck Mead: "Re: spammit.com (formerly ban based on MX)"
- Reply: brian moore: "Re: spammit.com (formerly ban based on MX)"
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]