OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
 
Subject: Re: spammit.com (formerly ban based on MX)
From: Chuck Mead (csmLinuxMall.com)
Date: Fri Oct 06 2000 - 13:00:40 CDT


On Fri, 6 Oct 2000, Harry Palmer spewed into the bitstream:

HP>The guy who runs spammit.com runs a variety of other domains. In all
HP>situations the MX is a machine with IP address 255.255.255.255. Anyone
HP>who runs alarge domain can tell you that this guy is a class A asshole.
HP>Having thousands (tens of thousands) of these emails hanging in
HP>deferred queue for a week is a major pain in the ass. The solution I
HP>use at the moment is to ban all access from these phony domains with an
HP>access list on my inbound mail servers. This prevents my users from
HP>getting the junk mail, and prevents my server from dealing with the
HP>bounces that go no where but my deferred queue.

Good idea... I spoke with register.com this morning about this... they are
providing DNS for spammit.com and appear to be without any semblance of
clue. They said they were going to look at the issue but who knows what
that means...

Also... if any of you guys in this thread are willing to be quoted send me
an off-list email with your comments... I'm writing an article/op-ed piece
about this which will end up on linuxnews.com and linuxguru.com when it's
done...

--
Chuck Mead, CTO, LinuxMall.com
csmLinuxMall.com
GnuPG Public Key Available: http://www.pgp.net/wwwkeys.html