OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
 
From: Jack Sasportas (jackinnovativeinternet.com)
Date: Thu Aug 02 2001 - 08:10:33 CDT

  • Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]

    first submit the ip to the open relay sites like mail-abuse.org and
    orbz.org, then if someone gives you some bad email "Hey why did you spam
    me"
    send them a nicely formatted and written email educating them that you
    were spoofed "email address wise"....
    Also call your ISP and let them know, assuming someone reported the spam
    to spamcop etc, the ISP will receive notice and take action, if you let
    them know, then they will respond accodingly, and not disconnect your
    account.....

    Good Luck!

    Jack

    Jim Rosenberg wrote:

    > Apologies, I know this is off-topic, but since this list is the home
    > of some of the most clueful folk on the planet regarding E-mail ...
    >
    > I have discovered to my great mortification this morning that my home
    > E-mail address (not this one) is apparently being forged as the From:
    > on spam. The offending server seems to be 211.96.97.10, which is
    > evidently a machine in China, as reported by whois.apnic.net. Of
    > course everyone knows that E-mail can be forged so that the From:
    > says anything you want it to. I don't see that I have any recourse
    > in this situation, but it sure is vexing. My system at home is
    > getting postmaster notifications of bounces. I think these are
    > genuine but am not sure. My concern is that some of the people
    > receiving this spam will not understand that my address has been
    > forged. This sort of thing could lead to my E-mail address being
    > blacklisted, which would be no fun at all.
    >
    > What should I do about it? What *can* I do about it? Anything at
    > all?
    >
    > The offending mail server appears to be running Microsoft Exchange --
    > it announces itself as
    >
    > Microsoft ESMTP MAIL Service, Version: 5.0.2195.2966
    >
    > I think this machine is an open relay, but am not sure. I tried
    > using it to relay mail to myself and it seemed to accept the mail,
    > but I haven't gotten it yet, so maybe they are not an open relay.
    >
    > Any advice is welcome. What would you do if this was *your* E-mail
    > address??
    > -
    > To unsubscribe, send mail to majordomopostfix.org with content
    > (not subject): unsubscribe postfix-users

    --
    ___________________________________________________________
    Jack Sasportas
    Innovative Internet Solutions
    Phone 305.665.2500
    Fax 305.665.2551
    www.innovativeinternet.com
    www.web56.net
    

    - To unsubscribe, send mail to majordomopostfix.org with content (not subject): unsubscribe postfix-users