OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
 
From: Vivek Khera (kherakcilink.com)
Date: Wed May 01 2002 - 11:51:32 CDT

  • Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]

    Executive summary:

    Appending myorigin to SMTP sender address in logs threw me off the
    trail of how to block an apparent mailbomb attack.

    Long story:

    Since yesterday, I've been mail-bombed by what *seems* to be some
    Checkpoint Firewall-1 software going haywire reporting a licence
    violation. Unfortunately, this violation notice comes in at about one
    every other minute, sometimes more. The people I spoke to at
    checkpoint are not sure if their software does this email
    notification, but are looking into it.

    My first trick was to cut off the IP of the offending source at the
    firewall, assuming some poor dolt accidentally mistyped my mail
    server's IP as his own. Then I got another site doing the same, so
    blocked their IP as well. I guess you can see where this is going:
    today I had no fewer than 5 servers doing this to me.

    The headers of one of the messages looks like this:

    Return-Path: <SYSTEMm1e.net>
    Delivered-To: kherakcilink.com
    Received: from w01.m1e.net (w01.m1e.net [206.112.95.5])
            by yertle.kciLink.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 734D52178A
            for <root+mmkcilink.com>; Tue, 30 Apr 2002 18:42:38 -0400 (EDT)
    Received: from itd-syd-fw.it.alstom.com.au (net3157-2.gw.connect.com.au [203.63.127.241])
            by w01.m1e.net (Postfix) with SMTP id E59AD3629B
            for <root>; Tue, 30 Apr 2002 18:42:36 -0400 (EDT)
    Message-Id: <20020430224236.E59AD3629Bw01.m1e.net>
    From: SYSTEMm1e.net
    To: undisclosed-recipients: ;
    Subject: Alert
    Date: Tue, 30 Apr 2002 18:42:36 -0400 (EDT)

    Here's the log entries for this:

    Apr 30 18:42:36 w01 postfix/smtpd[37605]: E59AD3629B: client=net3157-2.gw.connect.com.au[203.63.127.241]
    Apr 30 18:42:38 w01 postfix/cleanup[41239]: E59AD3629B: message-id=<20020430224236.E59AD3629Bw01.m1e.net>
    Apr 30 18:42:38 w01 postfix/nqmgr[15979]: E59AD3629B: from=<SYSTEMm1e.net>, size=931, nrcpt=1 (queue active)
    Apr 30 18:42:38 w01 postfix/smtp[54481]: E59AD3629B: to=<root+mmkcilink.com>, relay=yertle.kcilink.com[216.194.193.105], delay=2, status=sent (250 Ok: queued as 734D52178A)

    "root+mmkcilink.com" is the expansion for "rootm1e.net" in
    a virtual table. myorigin is m1e.net, and all mail is handled via the
    virtual table since no real users exist on this box. Note that the
    original Received line says the message was for <root> so this is
    expected.

    Note also that the from=<SYSTEMm1e.net> in the logs. This is
    misleading, because as we'll see the real FROM address is "SYSTEM".
    This is where I went astray...

    To block this, I set up smtp_recipient_restrictions with
    check_sender_access to a file that rejects "SYSTEMm1e.net". However,
    this doesn't match the real sender.

    So, I added reject_unknown_sender_domain and poof! the messages
    started to get blocked:

     reject: RCPT from net3157-2.gw.connect.com.au[203.63.127.241]: 554
     <SYSTEM>: Sender address rejected: Access denied; from=<SYSTEM>
     to=<root>

    Curiously, I can't reject this message on sender_access of "SYSTEM"
    since either.

    This box has practically no spam trapping for business reasons, so I'd
    like to avoid having such restrictions, but in this case I just have
    to do it.

    So my question/complaint is: should the logs record the unaltered
    sender/recipient? I think it would be useful, but then it is also
    useful the way it is currently, too.

    Also, is anyone else seeing this type of thing or am I just the lucky
    one?

    -- 
    =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
    Vivek Khera, Ph.D.                Khera Communications, Inc.
    Internet: kherakciLink.com       Rockville, MD       +1-240-453-8497
    AIM: vivekkhera Y!: vivek_khera   http://www.khera.org/~vivek/
    -
    To unsubscribe, send mail to majordomopostfix.org with content
    (not subject): unsubscribe postfix-users