|
Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com |
Re: fake account name hack?
From: Alex van den Bogaerdt (alex
ergens.op.het.net)
Date: Thu Jan 15 2004 - 16:40:32 CST
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]
On Thu, Jan 15, 2004 at 10:31:45AM -0600, G B Mayes wrote:
> One server is mx.foo.com
> One user is frank
foo.com
> Frank received a message from shanna
foo.com. Shanna is a non-existent
> user at foo.com, and has no account unless it has been placed by a hacker.
Chances are the message was sent by "Shanna", and your server appended
"
foo.com"
> The email originated at hongkong.com. Is this an intrusion attack on foo.com?
It probably is not worth checking. If you must, check your logs and
verify the queue-ID. Most likely you'll find the message originated
from outside your network.
HTH
Alex
--
begin sig
http://www.googlism.com/index.htm?ism=alex+van+den+bogaerdt&type=1
This message was produced without any <iframe tags
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]