|
Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com |
forging the 'From' header
From: Allen Unueco (allen
premierweb.com)
Date: Sun Jul 11 2004 - 22:04:20 CDT
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]
By what mechanism could an email have it's 'From' header changed between
the time in enters and leaves postfix?
I publish a SPF record such that my server is the only one allowed to
send email for my domain. I have noticed a few emails which claim to be
from my domain using an invalid email address.
I checked mail.log for the message IDs and the log the 'from=' parameter
does not contain my domain name, the SPF check passes, but when it
reaches my inbox the From line is changed.
The header of the received email has no trace of the "from=" address I
see in the mail log.
How is this possible? I wanted to try and simulate it (via telnet) but I
don't know what they might be doing.
Here are the excerpts from the logs, I've removed lines I didn't feel
were useful. This messages was sent to 5 or 6 other emails address in my
domain which were all false and rejected, only one made it through.
postfix/smtpd[31660]: C9EC979DDF: client=unknown[219.134.12.58]
postfix/policy-spf[31662]: C9EC979DDF: testing: stripped
sender=drarbiter284cltvlv
bardfield.co.uk, stripped
rcpt=allen
premierweb.com
postfix/policy-spf[31662]: C9EC979DDF: SPF none: smtp_comment=SPF:
domain of sender drarbiter284cltvlv
bardfield.co.uk does not designate m
ailers, header_comment=alderaan.premierweb.com: domain of
drarbiter284cltvlv
bardfield.co.uk does not designate permitted sender hosts
postfix/cleanup[31695]: C9EC979DDF:
message-id=<20040710115940.C9EC979DDF
alderaan.premierweb.com>
postfix/qmgr[28753]: C9EC979DDF:
from=<drarbiter284cltvlv
bardfield.co.uk>, size=5034, nrcpt=2 (queue active)
The sender/from is still bardfield.co.uk when it's queued for the
content_filter (amavisd-new)
postfix/smtpd[31699]: 6A70D79DF0: client=localhost[127.0.0.1]
postfix/cleanup[31695]: 6A70D79DF0:
message-id=<20040710115940.C9EC979DDF
alderaan.premierweb.com>
postfix/qmgr[28753]: 6A70D79DF0:
from=<drarbiter284cltvlv
bardfield.co.uk>, size=5422, nrcpt=2 (queue active)
postfix/smtpd[31699]: disconnect from localhost[127.0.0.1]
amavis[30967]: (30967-10) Passed CLEAN, [219.134.12.58]
<drarbiter284cltvlv
bardfield.co.uk> -> <allen
premierweb.com>,
Message-ID: <20040710115940.C9EC979DDF
alderaan.premierweb.com>, Hits: -
postfix/smtp[31696]: C9EC979DDF: to=<allen
premierweb.com>,
relay=127.0.0.1[127.0.0.1], delay=18, status=sent (250 2.6.0 Ok,
id=30967-10, f
rom MTA: 250 Ok: queued as 6A70D79DF0)
postfix/smtp[31696]: C9EC979DDF: to=<allen
premierweb.com>,
relay=127.0.0.1[127.0.0.1], delay=18, status=sent (250 2.6.0 Ok,
id=30967-10,
from MTA: 250 Ok: queued as 6A70D79DF0)
postfix/qmgr[28753]: C9EC979DDF: removed
postfix/pipe[31701]: 6A70D79DF0: to=<allen
premierweb.com>, relay=dspam,
delay=0, status=sent (alderaan.premierweb.com)
postfix/pipe[31715]: 6A70D79DF0: to=<allen
premierweb.com>,
orig_to=<aunueco
premierweb.com>, relay=dspam, delay=0, status=sent
(alderaan.p
remierweb.com)
postfix/qmgr[28753]: 6A70D79DF0: removed
I don't have the logs from dspam but by the time message id 6A70D79DF0
made it into my inbox the headers didn't have any reference to
bardfield.co.uk and the From header was a invalid username at my domain.
From the above logs I would suspect amavisd-new or dspam but I remember
having a few of these same messages before installing those two
components so I suspect something else is going on.
Any ideas?
Thanks,
-allen
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]