OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
 
Re[2]: Blocking mail from=<>

From: Bobby (dragonalimex.biz)
Date: Tue Mar 01 2005 - 12:31:57 CST


Dear All,


thanks to all of you for your answers. Well, the problem is serious, and it is a problem. I say that, because it is spam again, using the RFC.


So, let's say we do not want to stop mail from <> to our own users. That will cause a large amount of viruses and other spam reaching them.

But, there is also another problem - relaying. I am sure there is a way to stop it. And I am also sure you can help about that. Maybe this could be the first step of making just a little better configuration :)


Here is an example of a relay-abusing mail from <>:


postfix/qmgr[777]: 1BA0874C2BB: from=<>, size=6707, nrcpt=1 (queue active)

postfix/smtp[16307]: warning: no MX host for cyberinbox.com has a valid A record

postfix/smtp[16307]: 1BA0874C2BB: to=<fvlbeezvyll@cyberinbox.com>, relay=none, delay=0, status=bounced ([dev.null]: Name or service not known)

postfix/qmgr[777]: 1BA0874C2BB: removed


Well:

;; QUESTION SECTION:

;cyberinbox.com.                        IN      MX


;; ANSWER SECTION:

cyberinbox.com.         928     IN      MX      0 dev.null.


;; AUTHORITY SECTION:

cyberinbox.com.         170117  IN      NS      ns2.adrress.com.

cyberinbox.com.         170117  IN      NS      ns1.adrress.com.



postfix/qmgr[777]: 6DF1674C2BE: from=<>, size=4048, nrcpt=1 (queue active)

postfix/smtp[16322]: connect to mail.cgocable.com[24.226.1.11]: Connection timed out (port 25)

postfix/smtp[16322]: 6DF1674C2BE: to=<evnmlhslmsicju@cgocable.com>, relay=none, delay=220013, status=deferred (connect to mail.cgocable.com[24.226.1.11]: Connection timed out)



And just for today I have 148 mails with from=<>. I am sure these are not bounces :)

So, how about that?! Well, it does produce a lot of garbage and relays spam to some MTA on the net.

I am quite sure my server won't get listed as an open relay for that. But at least I don't want to fill up my bandwidth with this garbage.

All mail to unknown recepients in my domain gets rejected. Let us reject mail from <> to other users also.


Hope that you can help!



Best regards,

Bobby

Alimex

dragon@alimex.biz


Sunday, February 27, 2005, 3:06:00 AM, you wrote:


RLF> Are you acquainted with the listing policy of the RHSBl at 

RLF> dsn.rfc-ignorant.org?


RLF> http://www.rfc-ignorant.org/policy-dsn.php


RLF> Consider reading it.  You may find yourself in an area where RFC and

RLF> reality clash.  BTW, do you have an example of one of these null-sender

RLF> emails and is it addressed to a valid user?


RLF> Bobby wrote:

>> Dear All        ,

>> 

>> 

>> using alias checking and restrictions on the sender and recepient I

>> managed to put together a very nice configuration of postfix.

>> 

>> A lot of spam is stopped at my MX.

>> 

>> 

>> However I still can not stop mail with missing sender address, where the

>> field from=<>.

>> 

>> 

>> On Feb 16th Stefan Schleifer wrote about a misconfiguration on his 

>> machine that actually stopped such mail.

>> 

>> 

>> said: 554 <>: Sender address rejected: Access denied (in reply to RCPT

>> TO command)

>> 

>> 

>> 

>> Could anyone help me with configuration tips to remedy this?!

>> 

>> 

>> Thank you!

>> 

>> 

>> Best regards,

>> 

>> Bobby

>> 

>> Alimex

>> 

>> dragon@alimex.biz <mailto:dragon@alimex.biz>

>> 

>>