OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
 
Re[4]: Blocking mail from=<>

From: Bobby (dragonalimex.biz)
Date: Tue Mar 01 2005 - 14:51:33 CST


At 9:41:23 PM Tuesday, March 1, 2005 Noel wrote:

NJ> At 01:22 PM 3/1/2005, Bobby wrote:
>>Hello Noel,
>>
>>yep, sorry for that, it seems i missed some info.
>>I fought this problem about two years ago, but I did not dig in to it
>>then. It appears I am digging with wrong examples now :)
>>
>>rob0:
>>
>>Basically, I don't like using html in emails at all.
>>Could you please be more specific about the broken MUA, because it
>>seems fine to me and I think this would validate as HTML 4.01.
>>
>>About the DNS, please comment on this:
>>
>>;; QUESTION SECTION:
>>;cyberinbox.com. IN MX
>>
>>;; ANSWER SECTION:
>>cyberinbox.com. 3600 IN MX 0 dev.null.
>>
>>;; Query time: 171 msec
>>;; SERVER: 67.18.235.194#53(ns1.adrress.com)
>>;; WHEN: Tue Mar 1 21:20:25 2005
>>;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 56

NJ> This mail list prefers messages in plain-text only - no HTML at all. We
NJ> also very strongly prefer that answers come below the text they refer to;
NJ> that way the archives make sense. Posting your answers at the top of the
NJ> message is called top-posting and is considered quite rude. As I myself am
NJ> rather rude, having belched four times while composing this message, I
NJ> answer you anyway.

Well, you got me here. Seems I was born for non-HTML lists :) However,
for regular mail I don't like scrolling like hell to read the
important stuff. Just forgot to change it. Apologies!

NJ> Your DNS is probably fine. Don't accept and bounce mail you don't want.
NJ> % host -t mx cyberinbox.com
NJ> cyberinbox.com mail is handled by 0 dev.null.

NJ> cyberinbox.com apparently doesn't care to receive the bounce you are trying
NJ> to send them. You can reject mail from senders with bogus MX records using
NJ> check_sender_mx_access and an appropriate map. Read the docs and list
NJ> archives for hints on how to do this.

OK, thanks again. I have quite a long list about the sender and
recipient restrictions, I will add that too.

P.S. Since your reply-to is your own address, I have tried to mail to
it by mistake. I hope I have done noting in the past to get the
following:

450 <dragonalimex.biz>: Sender address rejected: Nothing good ever
comes from this TLD sender.pcre (in reply to RCPT TO command))
njonesmegan.vbhcs.org

Best regards,
Bobby
dragonalimex.biz