OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
 
Re: please help newb w/ tricky SORBS DUL problem?

From: /dev/rob0 (rob0gmx.co.uk)
Date: Thu Oct 13 2005 - 10:32:39 CDT


On Thursday 2005-October-13 09:58, Mike Schrauder wrote:
> Now I am having my email from home being blocked by some because I am
> an Adelphia Powerlink customer and their ip block is on the DUL list.

http://www.postfix.org/STANDARD_CONFIGURATION_README.html#dialup

> But I am running the smtp server (postfix) myself and I am using
> authenticated SMTP (Auth-SMTP). So I KNOW when I smtp from anywhere
> on the road, postfix smtp is secure.

It's nothing personal. It is against the millions of Windows users out
there who are getting infected. They spew out viral spam as rapidly as
possible. Blocking dynamic IP space is a quick and easy way to get rid
of a lot of that, at a cost to people like you.

And you should be using a relayhost anyway. It's about accountability.
Receiving servers need to know who you are. In dynamic IP space you
could be anybody. To parody an old movie's adverts: "In dynamic IP
space no one can hear you scream."

I've seen this issue from both sides. As a home user I relay everything
through a static IP which is under my control. I prefer that to using
my ISP's relay, which often gets blacklisted anyway.

> Because of the bottom (first) entry of these c&p headers, my
> outbound email is looking spammy to other mail servers.

No! It probably has nothing to do with the headers. I reject you if I
see your connection coming from an IP on the DUL, such as your
69-168-munge-munge.chvlva.adelphia.net [69.168.munge.munge].

> And, AAMOF, Spamassassin/Amavis on my mailserver is marking
> my wifes msgs to me at work as spam.

That might be the headers.

> Is there any way to tell
> postfix not to pass this ip info in the headers when the user
> has smtp'd using Auth-SMTP?

AUTH has nothing to do with it. You can (at great risk) choose to
DISCARD your Received headers, but it will not help you.

> Sorry for my ignorance in such matters. Is there maybe some other
> tact I should be researching?

Get, or relay through, a static IP.
--
    mail to this address is discarded unless "/dev/rob0"
    or "not-spam" is in Subject: header