|
Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com |
Re: 554 error
From: Noel Jones (njones
megan.vbhcs.org)
Date: Wed Jan 11 2006 - 15:46:09 CST
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]
At 03:10 PM 1/11/2006, Matt Morgan wrote:
>I have postfix installed on Mac OS X 10.3.9. I'm trying to
>configure
>postfix so that it
>
>1) accepts smtp delivery only from a certain domain (which is a
>spam-checking service, set up as the public MX for my domain)
#main.cf
smtpd_client_restrictions =
permit_mynetworks
permit_sasl_authenticated
check_client_access hash:/etc/postfix/allowed_clients
reject
# allowed_clients
smtproutes.com OK
ip.of.auth.client OK
Better to use the IPs in the above map so you don't depend
on DNS lookups.
>2) accepts mail for non-existent local users, and just delivers
>according to what's in /etc/aliases or the other alias files.
>
>The server should not accept mail from any other domain,
>but it must
>send directly to the addresses found in /etc/aliases.
Decide which address class works best for you, define the
domain and users appropriately. Sounds as if the domain
should be added to virtual_alias_domains (and removed from
mydestination if it's there) and the recipients and their
real destinations listed in virtual_alias_maps.
http://www.postfix.org/ADDRESS_CLASS_README.html
>I have delivery working correctly from the host itself,
>but it won't
>accept mail from the spam-checking service. I get a 554
>error, which
>is my relay_domains_reject_code, so I guess I don't know
>how to set up
>the relays_domain parameter correctly.
Look in your logs to see why the mail was rejected, there
are many reasons for a 554 reject.
>It's fine with me (in fact, probably better) to accept
>mail from any
>machine on that domain, so I have tried two different
>settings for
>relay_domains:
>
>relay_domains = $mydestination, smtproutes.com
>and
>relay_domains = $mydestination,
>steve.museum.pri-mx.smtproutes.com,
> steve.museum.bak-mx.smtproutes.com
>
>both result in a 554 error when I try to mail to any address
>steve.museum. What am I doing wrong?
No, don't add that domain to relay_domains, that is for
destinations you accept and relay elsewhere. You probably want
relay_domains =
ie. an empty setting.
>By the way, I've taken over for someone else here, and
>there are
>probably parameters set that are not doing what I want, like
>
>smtpd_recipient_restrictions = permit_sasl_authenticated,
>permit_mynetworks,
> reject_unauth_destination,permit
>
>Since the addresses are all aliases to addresses on other
>domains,
>could reject_unauth_destination have something to do with
>it? I don't
>want to just keep removing restrictions and end up with an
>open relay.
Sounds as if you misunderstand...
http://www.postfix.org/BASIC_CONFIGURATION_README.html
http://www.postfix.org/STANDARD_CONFIGURATION_README.html
http://www.postfix.org/VIRTUAL_README.html
For further help, see:
http://www.postfix.org/DEBUG_README.html#mail
--
Noel Jones
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]