OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
 
RE: Server blacklisted, need help

From: Sheldon T. Hall (pftandem.artell.net)
Date: Thu Feb 02 2006 - 12:47:45 CST


Tim O wrote ...

> Hello, im doing some work for a organization who has recently been
> placed on several RBL's most notably was http://cbl.abuseat.org/.

Exactly why were they blacklisted? All the big-name blacklists will give
you a reason if you go to their websites and look up the blacklisted IP
address.

> upon looking at the mail server ive noticed the following.
> Please tell me if this is normal behavior for a postfix
> server, I only know qmail.

The organization probably got blacklisted because of what it _sent_, not
what its mailserver looks like.

> Also the
> system has a internal IP which you will see coming up, and is going
> thru a PIX

PIXes are a problem; they seem to have problems relaying normal SMTP
messages. This probably doesn't have anything to do with the blacklisting,
though.

You posted your telnet session (which doesn't matter anyway) in HTML, so
it's scrambled. Don't post HTML to mailing lists. In fact, don't send HTML
email at all.

Please read the message you got when you joined the Postfix users' mailing
list. It tells you what you need to post to the list in order to get help.

-Shel