|
Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com |
Re: Odd reject message
From: Adam Jacob Muller (lists-postfix
adam.gs)
Date: Fri Dec 01 2006 - 09:24:47 CST
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]
You should post (or at least read) the URL that they replied to you
with, it almost certainly has the information on why your mail was
rejected (and perhaps how to get removed from their blacklist).
Unless, of course, you didn't truncate that URL and they are actually
sending you "550 ERROR: Mail Refused - x.x.x.x - See http://
securit...", in which case......
As far as the validity of sending back a 550 response before you even
issue [EH]{2}LO, well, it's definitely better than just dropping the
SMTP connection without sending ANY reply (as some anti-UCE products
do). I'm not sure if it's RFC-compliant, perhaps someone else can
comment?
-Adam
On Dec 1, 2006, at 7:35 AM, Tony Earnshaw wrote:
> Hrvoje Habjanić wrote:
>> Hi!
>> I found that on one of my servers, queue is full of messages with
>> 550 reject error. At first, i was puzzled why would message with
>> 550 error end up i queue, instead of rejected. After a short time,
>> i found out that destination server is sending quite strange 550
>> error message:
>> # telnet 65.24.7.64 25
>> Trying 65.24.7.64...
>> Connected to 65.24.7.64.
>> Escape character is '^]'.
>> 550-clmboh-mx-10.mgw.rr.com
>> 550 ERROR: Mail Refused - x.x.x.x - See http://securit...
>> I did read through rfc, and i think this isn't correct response
>> code to connect, but i would like to others verify this.
>
> Hmmm ... they obviously don't like you for some reason:
>
> 1027 [root:tru.leerlingen] /root # telnet 65.24.7.64 25
> Trying 65.24.7.64...
> Connected to clmboh-mx-10.mgw.rr.com (65.24.7.64).
> Escape character is '^]'.
> 220-clmboh-mx-10.mgw.rr.com ESMTP
> 220 Welcome to Road Runner. NO UCE *** FOR AUTHORIZED USE ONLY! ***
> quit
> 221 clmboh-mx-10.mgw.rr.com
> Connection closed by foreign host.
>
> FWIW this site has a CIDR REJECT block on 65.24.0.0/14 (Road Runner
> HoldCo LLC) and turns away tons of spam, but they still like us :)
>
> --Tonni
>
> --
> Tonni Earnshaw
> tonni
barlaeus.nl
- Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]