OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
Re: being mailbombed..or something

From: Wietse Venema (wietseporcupine.org)
Date: Tue Jan 01 2008 - 21:15:07 CST


Matthias Schmidt:
[ Charset ISO-8859-1 unsupported, converting... ]
> Am/On Tue, 1 Jan 2008 17:31:29 -0500 schrieb/wrote Wietse Venema:
>
> >JD Bronson:
> >> I am looking for any advice on how to mitigate an attack.
> >>
> >> I appear to be under attack from IPs all over the world attempting
> >> to send email to one of my domains with all invalid usernames:
> >>
> >> For example:
> >> 1 Laasixcompanies.com (<>)
> >> 1 Leitnerkkiwhsixcompanies.com (<>)
> >> 1 lemerandsixcompanies.com (<>)
> >> 1 Linassixcompanies.com (<>)
> >> 1 Littleflowersixcompanies.com (<>)
> >> 1 Lounekmmhvpsixcompanies.com (<>)
> >> 1 isabelle.lundquistsixcompanies.com (<>)
> >> 1 merloptlqsixcompanies.com (<>)
> >> 1 Mikhail-Rowensixcompanies.com (<>)
> >> 1 Miu_Connollysixcompanies.com (<>)
> >> 1 Natorywasixcompanies.com (<>)
> >> (tons and tons of these)
> >
> >Backscatter. Joe-job.
>
> I don't think so.
> imho it is a bot-net spam-attack.

Lots of mail from <> is backscatter.

        Wietse