OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
Re: Transport Based on Destination MX record and not Destination Domain?

From: mouss (moussnetoyen.net)
Date: Thu Aug 21 2008 - 02:49:46 CDT


Rodre Ghorashi-Zadeh wrote:
>
>> This only affects mail when it enters postfix (or more
>> specifically, when it leaves the content_filter). Mail
>> already in the queue will not be affected. Mail that bypasses
>> the content_filter will not be affected.
>>
>> Why is "to=" logged above? There must be a recipient address
>> to look up the recipient MX.
>>
>
> I sent the test message after I made the last adjustment (replacement of the space with a comma) to the master.cf. I saw the message traverse the content_filter (amavisd):
>
> amavis[2669]: (02669-11) Passed CLEAN, MYNETS LOCAL [192.168.x.xxx] [192.168.x.xxx] -> , Message-ID: , mail_id: DX9iOWagdlkP, Hits: -3.748, size: 671, queued_as: 386063B91282, 316 ms
>
> then try and deliver directly, as apposed via the smarthost, hence the error messages.
>
> I believe the list software must have detected and removed the email address in the "to=" field
> in order to stop email address harvesting.

you're being too creative. Now why would it remove the message-id?

don't accuse the list software. do you think the list software will
remove the addresses below:
        first: to=<neverexistednetoyen.net>
        second: to=willnotexistnetoyen.net
        third: to=
(ok, the third one is a joke...)

It is _your_ (ht)mailer which fixes your writing, because it doesn't
believe in your ability to write correctly (it thinks angle brakets are
reserved for html). I am only surprised that it didn't add (TM) after
"316 ms" and that it didn't fix "MYNETS" (should be "MSN Yet").

anyway, this gives me an idea:
Q- how to block hotmail users "kindly"?
A- Ask them to put "<notspam>" (or "<secret>") in their message.

sorry, couldn't resist...

>I double checked and it was definitely there in the log and in the email I sent to the list. The email address coincides with clubzone.com domain. What else can I try to debug?

first remove (or hold) the old mail or requeue it. then make sure the
message passes via the smtpd where you added the check_mx_access call.
As Noel said, use postmap to test your map, and if needed use -v to get
more logs.