OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
Re: emails get bounced with "Invalid 'From' header:" message

From: mouss (moussml.netoyen.net)
Date: Thu Feb 19 2009 - 15:34:45 CST


emailjohndavid a écrit :
> Hello,
> I am running postfix mail_version = 2.5.5 under ubuntu 8.10 server. I have
> a static IP and a domain name pointed to the IP. I also have reverse IP
> lookup setup for mail.myrealdomainnamehere.com to avoid being treated as a
> SPAM server. (my IP and real domain names are not shown in this post)
>
> However, my emails still get bounced saying that I have "Invalid 'From'
> header:"
>
> I am very new to postfix or any mail servers and hosting, and I have looked
> and searched so many places to resolve this issue for days but nothing has
> come across. Any help would be appreciated.
>
> The below is some of /var/log/mail.log. The bounced email also contains some
> of the messages shown in the log but not as detailed.
>
> Feb 19 00:09:43 somelocalhost postfix/pickup[23662]: 4D7E439062E2: uid=1000
> from=<johndavid>
> Feb 19 00:09:43 somelocalhost postfix/cleanup[26503]: 4D7E439062E2:
> message-id=<20090219050943.4D7E439062E2mail.myrealdomainnamehere.com>
> Feb 19 00:09:43 somelocalhost postfix/qmgr[2670]: 4D7E439062E2:
> from=<johndavidmyrealdomainnamehere.com>, size=349, nrcpt=1 (queue active)
> Feb 19 00:09:44 somelocalhost postfix/smtp[26505]: 4D7E439062E2:
> to=<anyemailrealemailserver.net>,
> relay=mx5.realemailserver.net[211.XX.XXX.XXX]:25, delay=1.7,
> delays=0.03/0/0.8/0.85, dsn=5.6.0, status=bounced (host
> mx5.realemailservermail.net[211.XX.XXX.XXX] said: 554 5.6.0 DHFR2
> 96.XXX.XX.XXX: Invalid 'From' header: johndavidmyrealdomainnamehere.com
> (johndavid) (in reply to end of DATA command))
> Feb 19 00:09:44 somelocalhost postfix/cleanup[26503]:
> F3B5F39062E3:
> message-id=<20090219050944.F3B5F39062E3mail.myrealdomainnamehere.com>
> Feb 19 00:09:45 somelocalhost postfix/bounce[26590]: 4D7E439062E2: sender
> non-delivery notification: F3B5F39062E3
> Feb 19 00:09:45 somelocalhost postfix/qmgr[2670]: F3B5F39062E3: from=<>,
> size=2291, nrcpt= 1 (queue active)

is mx5.realemailserver.net your server, and is it running postfix? if
so, look at header_checks to see if one rule is rejecting the message.

we can't help much as long as you can't show unaltered, unedited,
un-obfuscated infos.

PS. do not CC me when you send from nabble. I will make no exception for
nabble to send mail on behalf of gmail as long as they can't crack gmail
DKIM keys ;-p