OSEC

Neohapsis is currently accepting applications for employment. For more information, please visit our website www.neohapsis.com or email hr@neohapsis.com
 
From: Greg Rice (griceIASTATE.EDU)
Date: Thu Feb 08 2001 - 23:33:15 CST

  • Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]

    I too have received several emails from various excite.com addresses asking
    the same question. Before that I received a couple of emails from
    excite.com addresses directing me to "Find Out About Anyone Fast" websites.
    All attempts to find out about the members or reply to the addresses have
    failed.

    perhaps this is a better questions for the incidents list though...

    greg

    -----Original Message-----
    From: VULN-DEV List [mailto:VULN-DEVSECURITYFOCUS.COM]On Behalf Of
    DAVID CULLEN
    Sent: Thursday, February 08, 2001 12:57 PM
    To: VULN-DEVSECURITYFOCUS.COM
    Subject: Strange e-mails from Excite.com

    My Web site has received 3 e-mails in the last week, via a Web
    Support form (believe it is a CGI form), from the Excite.com
    domain. All three e-mails asked verbatim:

    "What’s your corporate HQ street address?"

    Has anyone else received similar messages in the past week?

    I don't know if it is anything--beyond a simple address request--but
    my company's supporters have not seen anything similar to these
    requests in the last year.

    I checked with Excite and I could not find the member names listed
    in their directory.

    Does anyone know of a possible exploit scenario? I was thinking
    of a send-mail attack. Am I being paranoid?

    Any thoughts, speculations would be greatly appreciated,

    Thanks,
    David